Monroe County joins fight against state’s SAFE-T Act

Monroe County State’s Attorney Lucas Liefer and Sheriff Neal Rohlfing have joined with other state’s attorneys and sheriffs across Illinois that are suing the state over the Safety, Accountability, Fairness and Equity-Today (SAFE-T) Act.

The SAFE-T Act was part of a criminal justice reform that was passed in January 2021 and is slated to go into effect on Jan. 1, 2023.

Randolph County State’s Attorney Jeremy Walker filed a suit against the state on Sept. 30, and many others have also done so since.

For more information, please see this week’s print edition.